Self Checkout and Anxiety

I’ve seen a lot of memes about how much people hate self-checkout lanes at stores. And a lot of people comment about how stupid they are or make fun of them. Recently, I’ve noticed a lot of stores shutting them down. For some of us with anxiety, self-checkout is one of the greatest things on the planet! Because for some of us with anxiety, even having to say “hi” or interact with a complete stranger in any way whatsoever is absolutely terrifying. It may sound stupid to people who have never dealt with real, diagnosed anxiety before, but it’s part of what keeps me from going out more. I’m becoming more and more of a hermit, and I’m becoming more and more okay with that, as I’m only protecting myself from a disorder I never wanted or asked for.

Now, it obviously isn’t society’s job to protect or help me with my anxiety by keeping self-checkout lanes open and available, and I’m also someone who can take a joke and laugh at myself. I simply write this because education is one of the goals of my blog. While I’ll continue to laugh at memes making fun of self-checkout lanes and be understanding of why people dislike them, I also hope this has helped others understand why some of us love them and hope they stick around.

3 thoughts on “Self Checkout and Anxiety

  1. It’s always good to understand more of other perspectives. Self-checkout lanes do have their frustrations, but definitely are better for some people than the regular lanes.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. God, I hate self checkout, I get so confused about what I’m supposed to do. At my grocery store the lady that guards the aisle hovers over my shoulder because she knows I’m going to screw up. Plus, like you, it’s hard for me to initiate conversation, but I’m usually thankful if I’ve had one. The checkout lane banter always leaves me feeling proud of myself.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m glad you commented because I think it’s good to see how different it is for everyone. And there are times I challenge myself and do something that triggers my anxiety to prove to myself I can do it, because I know it helps. And other times I just don’t care and instead do what makes me comfortable even if it’s avoiding what triggers my anxiety.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment